Connecticut's Fairfield Judicial District to Officially Become the Bridgeport Judicial District

The Fairfield Judicial District will officially become the Bridgeport Judicial District as of January 1, 2024, after legislation passed this year to make clear the facilities' location. All three of the courthouses in the judicial district are in the city of Bridgeport.

Pullman & Comley Litigation attorney Steven J. Stafstrom, who also serves as a member of the Connecticut General Assembly representing the 129th Assembly District (Bridgeport) and House Chairman of the Connecticut General Assembly’s Judiciary Committee, supports the legislative name change. "This re-naming not only adequately reflects the location of the courthouses but also the central role that Bridgeport plays in the region and the State’s legal community," he said.

The Judicial District serves the city of Bridgeport and the towns of Easton, Fairfield, Monroe, Stratford and Trumbull. The Bridgeport-based courthouses are the Judicial District Courthouse, 1061 Main St., the Geographical Area No. 2 Courthouse at 172 Golden Hill St. and the Juvenile Courthouse at 60 Housatonic Ave.


Jump to Page